Click Here to Print Page

Page Topic: New Member Researching CIPOLLINI and BARNI in Tuscany
-> About Us

#1: New Member Researching CIPOLLINI and BARNI in Tuscany Author: Quill325 PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:23 pm
    ----
Hello, Everyone!
My name is Michele Eleanor Cipollini Almeida. I have been researching my paternal British family history since March 2001 and my maternal French Canadian family history for the past couple of years. I started researching my Italian ancestry about one year ago.
Here is my Italian family history so far...
My paternal great-grandfather Gesue CIPOLLINI (Cessue on his gravestone) was born in 1841 in Lamporecchio, Pistoia, Tuscany, Italy.
My paternal great-grandmother Faustina BARNI was born 1850/52 (depending on which record to believe) in Montevettolini, Pistoia, Tuscany, Italy.
They had 6 children: twins Armando & Eugenia, born August 15, 1876 (family story claims there were triplets not twins, a brother went to live in Brazil); Alduina born in 1881; Giusto born March 8, 1885 in St. Theresa, Lucca, Tuscany; Guido born October 2, 1888 in Lucca, Tuscany; and my grandfather, Casimiro, born August 24, 1893 in Monsummano Terme, Pistoia, Tuscany.
Some of the children immigrated to the USA (Fall River, Massachusetts) via Ellis Island before their parents: Giusto in 1906; Armando in 1907; Guido in 1910; Casimiro and Alduina in 1911 whose last residence was Porcari, Lucca, Tuscany, Italy.
On June 16, 1913, aboard the S.S.Venezia, my great-grandparents Gesue and Faustina, along with their daughter Eugenia and another relative (whose info I can't read) arrived at the Port of Providence, RI. On the ship's manifest, Capannori, Lucca, Tuscany was recorded as their last residence in Italy and that the closest relative in Italy was a brother, Raffaele CIPOLLINI of Capannori.